Dirty Faith by David Z. Nowell ~ Book Review

“By this we know love, that <sup class="crossreference" data-cr="#cen-ESV-30579A" data-link="(A)”>he laid down his life for us, and <sup class="crossreference" data-cr="#cen-ESV-30579B" data-link="(B)”>we ought to lay down our lives for the brothers. But <sup class="crossreference" data-cr="#cen-ESV-30580C" data-link="(C)”>if anyone has the world’s goods and sees his brother in need, yet <sup class="crossreference" data-cr="#cen-ESV-30580D" data-link="(D)”>closes his heart against him, <sup class="crossreference" data-cr="#cen-ESV-30580E" data-link="(E)”>how does God’s love abide in him? Little children, let us not <sup class="crossreference" data-cr="#cen-ESV-30581F" data-link="(F)”>love in word or talk but in deed and <sup class="crossreference" data-cr="#cen-ESV-30581G" data-link="(G)”>in truth.”
~ I John 3:16-18

Whether in an orphanage overseas or an impoverished neighborhood down the road, all Christians are called to be the hands and feet of Jesus and show His love to those in need. In his new book Dirty Faith, David Nowell shows readers how to put their faith into action in a world that is not always easy or clean.

As president of the humanitarian nonprofit Hope Unlimited for Children, David Nowell is on the front lines living out this important message by providing help for sex-trafficked and street children in Brazil.

Sharing unforgettable stories from the United States and abroad, Nowell calls all believers to follow the ministry of Jesus Christ by moving from the side lines to the front—to get their hands dirty to help the hopeless, the disenfranchised, and the poor. Rounding out this action-oriented guide are examples to help readers live out their own “dirty faith” wherever they are.

My Thoughts

As I read this powerful book, I could not help but feel inadequate in my ministry.  I questioned myself as to whether I am doing all I can to bring Jesus to “the least of these.”  As followers of Jesus, many will give financially to meet needs of those who are willing to get dirty to bring these souls to the Lord. But how many are willing to go?  Am I?

When I see the homeless beggar, I may take him food, clothing, or give him money, but am I willing to stop and talk to him?  Am I willing to sacrifice my time, my day, to show him the way of salvation?  Am I willing to really become involved in a life to change a life?

This book will convict you to change, get out of your comfortable life, and become a tool to bring transforming power into the lives of a few or many.  Although the task may seem enormous, David Nowell shows what can happen when some give their all for many. 

In the first half of Dirty Faith, the author reveals the great need for the body of Christ around the world.  In the second half, he shares examples of ways, often creative, that churches, groups of Christians, and individuals have used to assist those people groups in need.  This book not only broke my heart, but sparked vision of what I should be doing.

Do you want to make a difference?  Do you want to be a part of change in this world?  Let Dirty Faith be the catalyst for change in your life and world. You do not want to miss reading this book.  I highly recommend it to individuals, churches, life groups, and Bible study groups.

About The Author

David Z. Nowell is an author, speaker, and President of Hope Unlimited for Children, a Christian nonprofit that ministers to sex-trafficked children, street orphans, and child prisoners.  Prior to joining Hope in 2007, he spent most of his career as a senior administrator at several Christian colleges. He is a graduate of Baylor University with a Ph.D. in historical theology. Nowell’s blog, Pursuing Dirty Faith surrounds topics of faith, orphan care, and lifestyle stewardship. He and his wife, Susan, make their home in Jefferson City, TN.  Learn more at www.davidznowell.com

You may read an excerpt here.

You may purchase this book here. 

Thank you to David Z. Nowell, and Bethany House Publishers for a free copy in exchange for my honest review.

 

